10 Years from Now

I am currently on a road trip from Colorado to Maryland, helping relocate my mom to the East Coast. Tonight we arrived in Ohio.

A little over 10 years ago I lived here and attended The Ohio State University. It was the season of my first long, serious, relationship; the first season of being independent and free, far from home. It was also a time where I made some pretty terrible decisions and bailed on a lease, roommates and friends in a hasty move back to Colorado. Those bad decisions have haunted my conscience from time to time.  

Driving through I have remembered the past and wondered what would happen if I were to run into anyone I knew back then at some random rest stop or restaurant. 

The other part of this that has struck me is that the reason I am here is because my parents are starting over.

Just about a month ago they lost a home they owned to the Waldo Canyon Wildfire as it struck Colorado Springs, CO. Because of job placements, Maryland quickly became their option for resettling. I don’t think they could have imagined that at this point in their lives they would be renting a small apartment and buying IKEA furniture like newlyweds.

Coming back to this blog, reminiscing and helping my parents with this move has made me think, “Where do I want to me another 10 years from now?”

I would be 40 going on 41…Wow.

I don’t often look that far into the future. The truth is, I don’t know. There are a few things I would like to do for sure in the next 10 years:

  1. Finish my degree – Something that has been on my list for the last 10 years, too.
  2. Find in myself the ability to feel steady and at peace.
  3. Write something lengthy and wonderful, even if nobody reads it.

As I settle into a “vintage” room in a hotel they could film a 70s movie in, I reminisce and admit that I have lived a damn charmed life. May the next 10 be even more charming.

How often do you think about life 10 years from now? Do you have a picture, a goal or just an openness to whatever comes?

Leave a Reply

