Love Language #6

Only three posts left and there is so much I haven’t said! I can’t believe it. In just a matter of hours I will wake up and this project will officially have reached its end. I am excited and a little saddened. Already there are “Happy Birthday!” posts on my Facebook page, I have answered two Happy Birthday phone calls and have opened Happy Birthday cards in the mail this week. (Yes, I already opened them.)

This is why I love my birthday, I feel so loved!

Have you ever read the book The Five Love Languages? In it, the authors describe that most of us give and receive love in very specific ways and identifying these things can help us communicate love more clearly to those around us. The 5 love languages have been boiled down to: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts and Physical Touch. For instance, a top way my sister receives love is by receiving gifts, so we go out of our way to individually wrap and give her lots of little, meaningful presents for holidays and birthdays.

There is a little quiz you can take on the Five Love Languages website that helps you identify your love language(s). A few years ago I took this test and it came out with strange results: I scored evenly on four of them and really low on gifts. Really? Can a person have four love languages? I took a bit of time to think about this and realized that my love language isn’t on the list, but can be housed in all the options they present. So, I made up Love Language #6: Being Thought Of.

Whether a person calls me to talk on the phone, or takes me out for coffee, or sends a postcard. Whether someone just says, “Hey, been thinking of you,” or sits for hours with me, (even if they just stop by my blog and let me know they are reading…hint, hint…) I feel love when I know I crossed someone’s mind and they took a moment to show or tell me that. They could clean my house or just send me a text smiley and I would feel the love (Another hint?!?).

So each little thing makes me want to jump up and down and shout, “I am loved!” and nothing can beat that feeling.

Over the next 24 hours I am probably going to feel lots of love, unless Facebook has a glitch and doesn’t remind people I was born 31 years ago tomorrow….or every person I know has chosen not to pay attention….or there is some cruel game being played in the Universe and tomorrow becomes Sunday the 26th, like a mis-fired leap year and I get skipped over…but, barring any of these unfortunate events, I will be a giddy school girl tomorrow and will wrap up this hellish year I have be whining about for the last month.

Hallelujah!

I will also wrap up this experiment and written pilgrimage called 31 Blogs Before I Turn 31.

The process here has been rather therapeutic. I shed some dead weight; I got to the bottom of some things; I stirred up some emotions I haven’t felt in a while and admitted to things that were hidden in dark crevices of my heart. I have identified traits I don’t want to take into the next year and have grabbed hold of promises and truth that should be written on the palm of my hand. May the new year commence with the fanfare of January 1st, the rejoicing of Easter Sunday and the gratitude of Thanksgiving.

Happy Birthday to me, Happy Birthday to all of us…in T-minus one and a half hours…

29 / 31

One thought on “Love Language #6

  1. Hey, I really like the way you blog. I did listen to the audio book The Five Love Languages, but I haven’t finished it yet. I should really make that test for myself. But do you know hw we can test which is the love language of our partner?

Leave a Reply

