She Laughs At Days To Come

Lets play a little game. I am going to present a word. You tell me the first emotion that pops up.

Ready?

Excitement?

Anxiety?

Numbness?

Fear?

I don’t blame you.

No one knows what will happen. I don’t know that my job will last, or my health, or my business. I don’t know what relationships will stand the test of time, and which will break under pressure, or fizzle away with the seasons. All the unknowns make the future a little daunting.

I worry sometimes about the future. I worry that I am not making the right decisions for what I hope to see happen in my life. I worry that I have taken too many short cuts and have short changed myself and that I won’t be able to accomplish all I hope to accomplish before my life ends.

I don’t worry all the time, I wouldn’t consider myself a worry-wort, but I sometimes feel so ill-prepared for the life I am living that I wonder if I shouldn’t have made different decisions in the past, and that makes me wonder if there is something I should be doing differently now that will help tomorrow.

It is a vicious cycle.

I want to have the kind of confidence that allows me to laugh at days to come. I want to know that I am prepared and ready for whatever life brings. I think part of that is faith in the goodness of life, and part of that is making the best decisions possible today. 

That’s me, on the left.

There is a type of woman ancient Scripture talks about that “Laughs at days to come.” She prepares her home, her family, her kitchen, her finances, her community in the best way she knows how. She works hard, she gets up early, she builds relationships and she is confident.

In modern times she is sometimes explained like a June Cleaver character – always perfect in pearls as she vacuums and brings her husband some slippers.

I am not June Cleaver. I don’t want to be June Cleaver.

Every now and then well meaning modern teachers describe her like Martha Stewart, but married and without prison time.

I am not Martha Stewart. (and let’s face it, Martha might be June reincarnated.)

So how does someone like me, a little eccentric and outside of the Martha and June Wannabe Club, become a woman that can laugh at the days to come? If I am not going to be a 1950s stay-at-home housewife, or a modern craft and entertaining expert, what does this look like?

I propose we need a new, and more flexible vision of womanhood. Apart from sexy celebrities, apart from idealistic pastors wives. Apart from Martha and June.

Here is where I start my quest.

What do you think is a vital characteristic of the modern woman? What do we do, as women, that allows us to “laugh at days to come”?

11 thoughts on “She Laughs At Days To Come

  1. To “laugh at days to come” we just need to be comfortable in the roles we play in our daily lives. We need a support system in the form of family, friends, and boyfriend/husband. We need stability in the form of a great job. We need independence. We need safety. To laugh, you need confidence in yourself…that way you know if all of the before mentioned things fell apart, you would still be standing and laughing at the days to come.
    Great post.

  2. We need to overstep the boundaries of femininity and masculinity. I don’t think it’s about being male or female or the traits that come with that. We need to be our individual selves and live our lives the way we want to regardless of the labels society impose on us x

  3. And that’s me on the right!

    “To laugh at days to come” I think we must learn to cultivate peace in our souls in times of uncertainty. More and more, I find that when life seems out of control, this is exactly when I am the most at rest. It’s like I exhale deeply, and freely give up my perceived control. The ability to laugh at days to come also comes from trusting that I will have everything I need to do what it takes when the “future” is here. I suppose that’s a pretty good definition of confidence.

  4. I think you hit on the answer yourself: “to laugh at days to come” I think you have to somehow retain faith, no matter what, that there is goodness in life. Without believing in goodness (and it’s HARD to retain the belief sometimes,) it’s difficult (if not impossible) to retain hope. And without hope, it’s hard to see obstacles as challenges, and hard to look at the future and see all of the potential and possibility that exist there. And if you can’t see potential, etc., how can you really become the best of yourself? And I think THAT maybe is what I see as vital to being a modern woman: to realize our potential, whatever that means, and however unique the path might be.

    This was a wonderful post!! Thanks so much.

    • Ahhhh, You used my two favorite words – Potential and Possibility!

      I agree, we must be able to see the potential and possibility and I think part of that is making decisions that will cultivate potential and possibility and staying away from decisions that will shut the door on the grandness of the future….

  5. Ancient scripture you reference is the Proverbs women and to me that isn’t “ancient” it is fantastically relevant. She laughs at the future because she has deep faith in God and the fact that no matter what is happening around her God has her. That and only that can cause such confidence and peace. We grew up being taught not to lean on anyone or anything. Be strong and independent women. Try to have it all! I think we each need to ask ourselves and redefine what having it all means for us. I really love your blog and the questions you raise here. I think it’s really timely!

    • This is interesting, because I think we are taught to “be still and know” but the Proverbs woman has a lot going on! She is buying, selling, trading, preparing and taking care of people. I am beginning to wonder if being able to laugh at the days to come has more to do with an active engagement in what it will take to make them great days….thoughts in process.

      Thanks for sharing! The Scripture is relevant, the presentation of the Scripture I have had in my own life is somewhat lacking… 🙂

  6. Hmmm… that’s a good question! I know for me, what makes it so I don’t worry about the future, the world, and things to come is to remember Matt 6:25-34.
    ““That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith? “So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God[a] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

    I think that woman was solid in her faith. She had her eyes focused on a strong sturdy anchor (that’s the first thing that popped in my head) who kept her solid in the days of storms and trials. She knew He would hold her fast and keep her firm in her faith.
    I don’t necessarily think there’s many qualities about us as females that will make us into someone who “laughs at the days to come,” but when we’re held solid in Christ and continually “feeding” ourselves with Him and His word, we won’t shy away at the days to come or become worried about what’s going to happen.

    Wow, I’m like Sierra and wrote a novel. 😉 I hope that makes sense…

  7. Ambivalent. There is no future, there’s only the consequences of the present. To make well for one you have to make well for the other.

  8. I think a mixture of what was already said. Trying to let it go and feel peace inside, know that you can’t control everything so stop trying and look for what you can control or more likely influence, and let the other flow over you knowing you couldn’t have controlled it anyway. And having the faith that it will be ok, and that it’s being as it’s supposed to be, even if you can’t figure out the reason or wish it were going another way right then. And finally, I think you have to be able to really live in the moment. There are so many ways to tick off other people if you live truly in the moment. I can’t think very far ahead and if someone tried to pin me down for something a week away I overheat and break my brain, which is very annoying for someone who thinks and plans far ahead. But it means that when I have to figure things out I can take it one step at a time and just try to get through that little bit that’s happening right then. I think we need to act with kindness and strength and calmness to maneuver through stuff these days.
    I like your posts. Very thought provoking and great comments.

Leave a Reply

